Poster & Pride

Remember the last entry regarding the poster for Dance Reflections? Well the poster design back then was rejected. It was rather expected… The design was a little controversial/flat/unattractive/yadayada. So I went back to the desk, reflected on the feedback I was given, and churned out a new one. Tada~

Poster V6

As usual, here’s a look on how the poster has changed over time. The very first one was a just prototype that was created in 15 minutes to give the clients a brief look on how the new design would turn out eventually.

Poster V6 Over Time

Poster V6 Over Time

Well of course there has to be enough drama for this poster design to earn a post of its own right? Turns out that this design was rejected too. And this time round, the design was rejected without much constructive feedback. The big question is how am I suppose to know what the client is thinking about without enough input from them?

And honestly I did not expect the design to be rejected outright for the second time. I did not see it coming and all I felt back then was that I had wasted my free time creating something that was not being appreciated. There was a HUGE amount of frustration but fortunately many were around in Singapore to keep my tempers in check. Then I realized that I had tied in too much pride into my work. I need to adjust my mentality in order to become a more professional designer/worker.

Just happen to read an article from Smashing Magazine that ties in rather well with this post. Direct quote:

Now ask yourself, “Who are you designing for?” By definition, your job is to communicate a message via images and text. But, as a businessperson your goal must be to meet the requests of the client. If you go against the client’s explicit requests and produce a user-centric design, oddly enough you’ll have an unhappy client. Now the flip side of the coin. If you cooperate, lay down your sword, turn off the grids and produce what the client has demanded, the design will fail and in turn you will fail. The bad design will always come back like Rocky and smash you right in the face.

So should I design for the client or the audience? Tough choice to make…

7 thoughts on “Poster & Pride

  1. First picture was referring to the first frame of the animation. Then again, how would one know which one is the first frame right… It’s the only one with the line of the ground totally different from the rest. 🙂

  2. Well, an informed client is usually the voice of the audience too.
    At work, I’m the client to my design/ad agencies and often enough stand in the shoes as both the brand champion as well as the audience to ensure that all marketing materials give the optimum mileage.
    Guess now, the “client” is just unsure of what the audience wants. Don’t give up… jiayou!

  3. wil: It’s my innate skill to create posters that do not look like they belong to a Chinese dance performance. I aim to sell a concept and depend on symbolism, whereas others prefer to sell the art form and would like it being represented.

    Kit: I can’t describe how encouraging it usually is to hear from you. Haha… 偶像! But I have to say that unless I am struck by a stroke of genius within the next few days, I will have no choice but to “lay down my sword, turn off the grids”. There is not much time to delay anymore and I want to get things moving.

Leave a Reply

