Stranger Than Fiction

What would you do if you know you are going to die? When, where and how. Would you try your best to change the course of fate? Now, what happens if you know that you are going to die for a some sort noble cause. Would you still try to change the way your life is said to end?

Stranger Than Fiction is a simple light movie about the life of a taxman (Will Ferrell), baker (Maggie Gyllenhaal), and an author (Emma Thompson) and how their lives crossed; with the participation of a wristwatch. Uncanny it may seem, but the wristwatch does add an interesting dimension to an otherwise straightforward plot.

I liked the way the movie started. Subtle use of computer effects were used to highlight the protagonist’s queer habit of counting every detail in his life. This reminded me of Amélie; where just enough effects were used at the right moments to enhance the story. To me, computer effects is synonymous to MSG; too much of both would only distract/cover the actual flavour that they are suppose to enhance.

My favorite moment, the ending scene:

Sometimes, when we lose ourselves in fear and despair, in routine and constancy, in hopelessness and tragedy, we can thank God for Bavarian sugar cookies. And fortunately, when there aren’t any cookies we can still find reassurance in a familiar hand on our skin, or a kind and loving gesture, or a subtle encouragement, or a loving embrace, or an offer of comfort.

This movie made me wonder what would my life be like if I am to have a book about it. Would it be as mundane and repetitive as Harold’s? Let me review my daily routine thus far:

> Sleep > School > Dance > Home > Computer >

I strongly believe that I need to add some spice into my life.

3 thoughts on “Stranger Than Fiction

  1. Pingback: Movie Preview: Batman - The Dark Knight « Thoughts of a Diurnal

Leave a Reply

