Eating Alone

昨天在独自吃晚餐时,康杰就从我的餐桌擦身而过。他看见我的第一句话就是:

“你怎么一个人在吃饭?”

那个问题来得突然,我怎么也答不出来。

一个人单独用餐好像是许多人的禁忌。不知道他们是害怕寂默,还是怕被人看见他们孤单的样子。其实我也是个不喜欢孤单的感觉;只是我每次都是在不寻常的时间用餐。在懒得找人陪我吃饭的情况下,我就开始习惯了。

So this evening, when I was starting on my dinner, alone, at Engine canteen and a guy from the Cashflow Club(?) approached me. Not sure if he introduced himself, but upon asking my name, he went ahead to seat himself beside me and started rambling about his club. It gave me the feeling that he is regurgitating something off a script and it reminded me of the presentation made by Cingular CEO Stan Sigman’s presentation during the latest Apple Macworld keynote event. (See this for more comments of his presentation)

Throughout the conversation, one-sided conversation to be exact, I was distracted by my food, the plague in his teeth, the itch at the back of my head… Somehow I feel sorry for his club for having him to do its promotion. I believe it had more negative effects than anything else. However I let him finished his script and brushed him off with some cold “Yar”s, “Oh”, and “Ah”s.

Digress: Just had a talk with Siwei; let’s just say that we are both glad that it’s going to be over soon and we’d have more time for people close to our hearts.

One thought on “Eating Alone

  1. Pingback: Distractions in Life « Thoughts of a Diurnal

Leave a Reply

